the_martian_2015
Film, Movie Reviews

The Martian (2015)

Film Review

Astronaut Mark Watney is left stranded on Mars after him and his companions are caught in violent storm and forced to evacuate their mission. Presumed dead, Mark is then required to live off the short supply of provisions alone and with no means of communication. Adapted from the bestselling novel by Andy Weir, this science fiction epic tells the tale of the stranded traveller and his endeavour to survive and get back home.

I didn’t know what quite to expect before going in to see the Martian at the cinema. Space-y films have never quite been my type of genre that I particularly enjoy very often, so part of me was expecting to lose interest or even fall asleep – happens a lot at the cinema. The Martian was different. As anticipated, there was science talk throughout, some of which I would never in a million years understand completely, but unlike others (like Interstellar for example) this didn’t go completely over my head.
It was emotional, I’ll admit I was slightly close to tears nearing the end. Matt Damon gives a brilliant performance of the hardships and tribulation of space. There were times where I did actually fear for Mark as a character, I think its difficult to portray the severity of certain death in such a foreign environment and I especially enjoyed the humorous demeanour brought across as a coping mechanism.
Botany saves lives. Fact.
the_martian_2015
source: 20th Century Fox
I enjoyed how it looked as well, well shot and scripted. Kept me gripped, which is usually difficult for me during a 2 and a half hour-long feature. So even though it’s not my usual kind of film choice, I surprisingly enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. I need to get on and read the book now.

Leave a Reply

